photo 1 - yellow rose with AΣT Badge; photo 2 - Alpha Sigma Tau's 8 Founders; photo 3 - Founders' signatures on paper

Our Story

Our Founding

The Alpha Sigma Tau Sorority was founded on November 4, 1899, at what was then Michigan State Normal College, a teachers college in Ypsilanti. Back then, the sorority movement was just starting to sweep the country. Our Founders Helene M. Rice, Mayene Tracy, Adriance Rice, Eva O’Keefe, May Gephart, Mabel Chase, Ruth Dutcher, and Harriet Marx saw an opportunity for women to engage and grow together as Sisters.

From our beginnings in 1899 to today, we are proud to have continually promoted the ethical, cultural, social, and professional development of our members. The Sorority invests in women by instilling the skills necessary to navigate life, and inspires members to enrich their own lives and the lives of others. Like our Founders, we strive to empower women to excel in every way.

Scroll through the next eras of our Sisterhood

Introducing AΣΤ’s Digital Museum!

In celebration of our upcoming 125th Anniversary, Alpha Sigma Tau Sorority and Foundation are undergoing a massive historical archives preservation project.

Thanks to support from our donors, memorabilia from AΣΤ’s rich history will be captured, cataloged, and made available digitally for current and future members to enjoy for generations to come.

This is the first phase of a multi-phase project. Please consider making a gift to the AΣΤ Foundation to save Alpha Sigma Tau’s history.

Your story is AΣT history. Share your Fond Thoughts!

For our upcoming 125th Anniversary celebration, Alpha Sigma Tau is capturing and compiling members’ stories so they can be preserved and enjoyed for generations to come.

This historical preservation project is unlike any project we’ve done before! We’re capturing stories of our Sisterhood on audio so that after another 125 years pass, our Sisters in 2149 can hear your account of what Alpha Sigma Tau was like.

We’re only collecting stories for a few months, so be on the lookout for your invite via mail and email!

Learn More

Past National Presidents

Alpha Sigma Tau has had 14 National Presidents since 1899. These women have led the Sorority through our early years, the Great Depression, and many other difficult times. Learn more about their legacies and contributions to our Sisterhood.