Alpha Sigma Tau Foundation Board Update

Three alumnae members join Foundation Board in August 2021

Nadiya Siregar Conner

Nadiya earned a bachelor’s degree in business administration from California State University, Los Angeles where she joined the Gamma Upsilon Chapter of Alpha Sigma Tau in 1994.

Nadiya brings more than 20 years of professional experience in the non-profit and higher education sectors. Currently, she is the Philanthropy Officer for the Japanese American National Museum in Los Angeles.

In addition to volunteering on the Foundation Board, Nadiya volunteers on the Gamma Upsilon Chapter Advisory Board. 

Lizzie Mikes Henningfeld

Lizzie Mikes Henningfeld earned an associate’s degree in culinary arts from the Culinary Institute of America and a bachelor’s degree in sports, entertainment, and event management from the North Miami Campus of Johnson & Wales University where she joined the Epsilon Epsilon Chapter of Alpha Sigma Tau in 2010. A lifelong learner, Lizzie will graduate in May 2022 with an Executive MBA from the Mendoza College of Business at the University of Notre Dame.

Professionally, Lizzie serves as the Associate Director of Financial Operations and Administration within the University of Notre Dame International Office where she serves as an operations and business management liaison between Notre Dame’s main campus in Northern Indiana and 12 offices around the world.

Outside of work and Alpha Sigma Tau, Lizzie lives in her hometown of Mishawaka, Indiana, with her husband and two dogs. She enjoys cooking and cheering on the Notre Dame Fighting Irish.

Elizabeth Plume

Elizabeth earned a bachelor’s degree in public health from the University of Massachusetts Lowell where she joined the Beta Tau Chapter of Alpha Sigma Tau in 2013. She continued her education at UMass Lowell and earned her master’s degree in public administration in human service management.

Committed to public service, Elizabeth serves the non-profit community in both her professional life and her free time. Professionally, she is the Development Manager at the Louis D. Brown Peace Institute, a non-profit serving as a center of healing, teaching, and learning for communities impacted by trauma. She is also a Youth Director for St. Michael’s Episcopal Church in Holliston, Massachusetts, and a Board Member for the Barbara C. Harris Camp and Conference Center in New Hampshire. 

Erika Bukva transitions to Foundation Board President

The Alpha Sigma Tau Foundation is pleased to announce Erika McManus Bukva (Delta Rho 2000/Chowan) has been elected to serve as the Foundation’s Board President. In this role, she will oversee the Foundation’s strategic goals and board development.

A Foundation Board member since 2019, Erika succeeds Kris Haskin, who retired as Foundation President in June 2021.

In addition to serving on the Foundation Board, Erika has volunteered with the Sorority in a variety of roles throughout her membership. She served on the Governing Documents Committee, as the Editor of The Anchor, and most recently, as National Vice President. She is a member of the Northern Virginia Alumnae Chapter.

Erika is a graduate of Chowan University where she founded and served as President of the Delta Rho Chapter of Alpha Sigma Tau. Erika resides in Virginia with her husband and two sons. 

Chris Covington to depart Foundation Board

Foundation Board Member Chris Duggan Covington (Alpha Lambda 1986/Radford) will depart her role on the Foundation Board on August 31, 2021. 

Chris is a longtime volunteer with both the Sorority and the Foundation. In her role on the Foundation Board over the past two years, Chris played an instrumental role in building relationships between members and the Foundation.

The Alpha Sigma Tau Foundation thanks Chris for her service and commitment to the mission of the Foundation.